One Young World Oceania: Updates

by oneyoungworldoceania

Talofa Lava, Kia Orana, Halo Oloketa, Malo ‘e lelei, Ni Sa Bula Vinaka, Taloha Ni, Aloha, Fakalofa lahi atu, Boongonna moogonoo and warm greetings One Young World Oceanic Youth Ambassadors.

I am delighted to send you what I hope is the first of many updates in my position as Coordinating Ambassador for our beautiful region: Oceania.

Some of you will know that after each summit, when Youth delegates graduate to OYW Ambassadors, an election is held to appoint a Coordinating Ambassador to support the work of OYW, but more importantly to profile and support the work of our Ambassadors across our great region.

Just a bit about myself, my name is Tim Baice I am from Samoa currently based in Auckland New Zealand at the University of Auckland in the Faculty of Education and Social Work. I am passionate about social justice and the environment with a particular focus in the Pacific/ Oceania.

Acknowledgement

 

Before we move onto general notices I would like to take this opportunity to acknowledge outgoing Coordinating Ambassador for Oceania Mr Luke Fitzmaurice. Luke among many other things is a child’s rights activist working for the  New Zealand Government. He co founded ‘Law for Change’ Wellington which encourages young people to use their legal skills in the public interest.Fa’afetai Lava, Vinaka vaka levu and thank you Luke for all your hard work and commitment and the work you continue to do for young people the world over. Luke will continue to support our regional efforts and remain active in supporting with social media.

One Young World Summit 2016

Applications for the 2016 One Young World Summit in Ottawa Canada 28 September – 1 October are open. Applications for the All Bar None Scholarship are also open. Please promote to youth in your networks. Apply here! Applications for the 2016 All Bar None Scholarships are open and you can apply here!

Regional Google Hangout

I would love for us to meet and get to know one another initially online. I know that can be difficult given the size of our region and also our time zone differences so I’m happy to meet with those who can, and then also have individual google hangout/skype meetings with ambassadors at a time that suits you. I will send through a calendar invitation shortly.

 Oceanic Caucus Meeting

I am proposing to host a (physical) caucus meeting for all Oceanic Ambassadors in Samoa from the 4th-8th July, 2016. This will be the pre-regional Fono in preparation for the summit in Ottawa. This will be a great opportunity for us to (re) connect, and to continue sharing, networking and working together.

If you are interested and free at that time please let me know via doodle poll and I can start putting this idea into action and developing resources to help you secure funding with organisations/ governments within your country.

I will leave it there for now. I will send a few more updates and requests for information via email. I wish you all the best for the remainder of the week and hope you all have a great weekend.

Fa’afetai tele lava. Soifua.

